Joliet Signal

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Joliet Signal
City: Joliet, Ill.
County: Will
Frequency: Weekly
History: Signal (1843-1844); Juliet Signal (1844-1???). Continues: Juliet Courier (Joliet, Ill. : 1840). Title was spelled both "Juliet Signal" and "Joliet Signal".
Available online: 5 May 1846 - 20 December 1864 (323 issues)
Joliet (previously spelled Juliet), Illinois, was named for Louis Jolliet who, along with Jacques Marquette, first explored the area along the Des Plaines River in 1673. The town was founded in 1831, though not incorporated as a city until 1852. Originally a part of Cook County, as of 1886, it became the seat of Will County.

The earliest issues of Juliet Courier have not yet been cataloged or archived; however, “the first number was preserved by Mr. Clement, who was one of the persons who had bought the press” (James H. Ferriss, Joliet News Historical Edition; A Semi-Centennial History, September 1884). That first issue is dated April 29, 1839, and lists D. L. Gregg and W. P. Hudson as publishers.

The Courier was sold in 1843 to William E. Little and became the Signal. Only a year later, it changed publishers again when it was bought by Judge S. W. Randall, who changed its name to the Juliet Signal. Randall sold the paper to his brother-in-law, A. O. Stillman, in 1845. Later that year, Stillman changed the spelling to the Joliet Signal. And finally, in 1846, Stillman sold the newspaper to Calvin and Calneh Zarley. The Zarley brothers remained the proprietors, as well as editors, of the Signal for nearly 40 years thereafter.

It is not known when the Joliet Signal ceased publication, but the last known issue is April 7, 1893.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 July 1846
2 Thursday, 2 July 1846
3 Friday, 3 July 1846
4 Saturday, 4 July 1846
5 Sunday, 5 July 1846
6 Monday, 6 July 1846
7 Tuesday, 7 July 1846
8 Wednesday, 8 July 1846
9 Thursday, 9 July 1846
10 Friday, 10 July 1846
11 Saturday, 11 July 1846
12 Sunday, 12 July 1846
13 Monday, 13 July 1846
14 Tuesday, 14 July 1846
15 Wednesday, 15 July 1846
16 Thursday, 16 July 1846
17 Friday, 17 July 1846
18 Saturday, 18 July 1846
19 Sunday, 19 July 1846
20 Monday, 20 July 1846
21 Tuesday, 21 July 1846
22 Wednesday, 22 July 1846
23 Thursday, 23 July 1846
24 Friday, 24 July 1846
25 Saturday, 25 July 1846
26 Sunday, 26 July 1846
27 Monday, 27 July 1846
28 Tuesday, 28 July 1846
1 issue
29 Wednesday, 29 July 1846
30 Thursday, 30 July 1846
31 Friday, 31 July 1846