Joliet Signal

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Joliet Signal
City: Joliet, Ill.
County: Will
Frequency: Weekly
History: Signal (1843-1844); Juliet Signal (1844-1???). Continues: Juliet Courier (Joliet, Ill. : 1840). Title was spelled both "Juliet Signal" and "Joliet Signal".
Available online: 5 May 1846 - 20 December 1864 (323 issues)
Joliet (previously spelled Juliet), Illinois, was named for Louis Jolliet who, along with Jacques Marquette, first explored the area along the Des Plaines River in 1673. The town was founded in 1831, though not incorporated as a city until 1852. Originally a part of Cook County, as of 1886, it became the seat of Will County.

The earliest issues of Juliet Courier have not yet been cataloged or archived; however, “the first number was preserved by Mr. Clement, who was one of the persons who had bought the press” (James H. Ferriss, Joliet News Historical Edition; A Semi-Centennial History, September 1884). That first issue is dated April 29, 1839, and lists D. L. Gregg and W. P. Hudson as publishers.

The Courier was sold in 1843 to William E. Little and became the Signal. Only a year later, it changed publishers again when it was bought by Judge S. W. Randall, who changed its name to the Juliet Signal. Randall sold the paper to his brother-in-law, A. O. Stillman, in 1845. Later that year, Stillman changed the spelling to the Joliet Signal. And finally, in 1846, Stillman sold the newspaper to Calvin and Calneh Zarley. The Zarley brothers remained the proprietors, as well as editors, of the Signal for nearly 40 years thereafter.

It is not known when the Joliet Signal ceased publication, but the last known issue is April 7, 1893.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 January 1847
2 Saturday, 2 January 1847
3 Sunday, 3 January 1847
4 Monday, 4 January 1847
5 Tuesday, 5 January 1847
1 issue
6 Wednesday, 6 January 1847
7 Thursday, 7 January 1847
8 Friday, 8 January 1847
9 Saturday, 9 January 1847
10 Sunday, 10 January 1847
11 Monday, 11 January 1847
12 Tuesday, 12 January 1847
1 issue
13 Wednesday, 13 January 1847
14 Thursday, 14 January 1847
15 Friday, 15 January 1847
16 Saturday, 16 January 1847
17 Sunday, 17 January 1847
18 Monday, 18 January 1847
19 Tuesday, 19 January 1847
1 issue
20 Wednesday, 20 January 1847
21 Thursday, 21 January 1847
22 Friday, 22 January 1847
23 Saturday, 23 January 1847
24 Sunday, 24 January 1847
25 Monday, 25 January 1847
26 Tuesday, 26 January 1847
1 issue
27 Wednesday, 27 January 1847
28 Thursday, 28 January 1847
29 Friday, 29 January 1847
30 Saturday, 30 January 1847
31 Sunday, 31 January 1847