Prairie Farmer

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Prairie Farmer
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer (1841-1842); Prairie Farmer (1843-1858); Emery's Journal of Agriculture and Prairie Farmer (1858); Prairie Farmer (1859-1882); People's Illustrated Weekly and Prairie Farmer (1882); Prairie Farmer (1882-present).
Available online: 1 January 1841 - 11 January 1941 (2476 issues)
Farm newspaper originally published in Chicago. By far the oldest, continuously published farm newspaper in the United States, the Prairie Farmer began in 1841 as the Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer. In its nearly 200 year existence, the paper has undergone a number of title and format changes. Considered to be one of the most important Midwestern farm newspapers ever published, not only for its influence on agriculture, but for its influence on rural life in general. It was, for example, one of the earliest and strongest supporters of the National Grange, and also an early advocate of "book farming" (the expression, in fact, appeared as the title of an article on the subject in the paper’s very first issue). In 1928, the paper bought a faltering Chicago radio station from Sears-Roebuck and Company, and turned it into a 50,000 watt, clear channel radio giant, capable of reaching listeners living anywhere between the Allegheny and the Rocky Mountains. Both the newspaper and its radio station (popularly called "The Prairie Farmer Station") played an important role in the daily lives of rural Americans, a point made by the dean of the University of Illinois’s College of Agriculture in a speech given during a special ceremony in 1938.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 December 1850
1 issue
2 Monday, 2 December 1850
3 Tuesday, 3 December 1850
4 Wednesday, 4 December 1850
5 Thursday, 5 December 1850
6 Friday, 6 December 1850
7 Saturday, 7 December 1850
8 Sunday, 8 December 1850
9 Monday, 9 December 1850
10 Tuesday, 10 December 1850
11 Wednesday, 11 December 1850
12 Thursday, 12 December 1850
13 Friday, 13 December 1850
14 Saturday, 14 December 1850
15 Sunday, 15 December 1850
16 Monday, 16 December 1850
17 Tuesday, 17 December 1850
18 Wednesday, 18 December 1850
19 Thursday, 19 December 1850
20 Friday, 20 December 1850
21 Saturday, 21 December 1850
22 Sunday, 22 December 1850
23 Monday, 23 December 1850
24 Tuesday, 24 December 1850
25 Wednesday, 25 December 1850
26 Thursday, 26 December 1850
27 Friday, 27 December 1850
28 Saturday, 28 December 1850
29 Sunday, 29 December 1850
30 Monday, 30 December 1850
31 Tuesday, 31 December 1850