Prairie Farmer

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Prairie Farmer
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer (1841-1842); Prairie Farmer (1843-1858); Emery's Journal of Agriculture and Prairie Farmer (1858); Prairie Farmer (1859-1882); People's Illustrated Weekly and Prairie Farmer (1882); Prairie Farmer (1882-present).
Available online: 1 January 1841 - 11 January 1941 (2476 issues)
Farm newspaper originally published in Chicago. By far the oldest, continuously published farm newspaper in the United States, the Prairie Farmer began in 1841 as the Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer. In its nearly 200 year existence, the paper has undergone a number of title and format changes. Considered to be one of the most important Midwestern farm newspapers ever published, not only for its influence on agriculture, but for its influence on rural life in general. It was, for example, one of the earliest and strongest supporters of the National Grange, and also an early advocate of "book farming" (the expression, in fact, appeared as the title of an article on the subject in the paper’s very first issue). In 1928, the paper bought a faltering Chicago radio station from Sears-Roebuck and Company, and turned it into a 50,000 watt, clear channel radio giant, capable of reaching listeners living anywhere between the Allegheny and the Rocky Mountains. Both the newspaper and its radio station (popularly called "The Prairie Farmer Station") played an important role in the daily lives of rural Americans, a point made by the dean of the University of Illinois’s College of Agriculture in a speech given during a special ceremony in 1938.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 November 1852
1 issue
2 Tuesday, 2 November 1852
3 Wednesday, 3 November 1852
4 Thursday, 4 November 1852
5 Friday, 5 November 1852
6 Saturday, 6 November 1852
7 Sunday, 7 November 1852
8 Monday, 8 November 1852
9 Tuesday, 9 November 1852
10 Wednesday, 10 November 1852
11 Thursday, 11 November 1852
12 Friday, 12 November 1852
13 Saturday, 13 November 1852
14 Sunday, 14 November 1852
15 Monday, 15 November 1852
16 Tuesday, 16 November 1852
17 Wednesday, 17 November 1852
18 Thursday, 18 November 1852
19 Friday, 19 November 1852
20 Saturday, 20 November 1852
21 Sunday, 21 November 1852
22 Monday, 22 November 1852
23 Tuesday, 23 November 1852
24 Wednesday, 24 November 1852
25 Thursday, 25 November 1852
26 Friday, 26 November 1852
27 Saturday, 27 November 1852
28 Sunday, 28 November 1852
29 Monday, 29 November 1852
30 Tuesday, 30 November 1852