Prairie Farmer

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Prairie Farmer
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer (1841-1842); Prairie Farmer (1843-1858); Emery's Journal of Agriculture and Prairie Farmer (1858); Prairie Farmer (1859-1882); People's Illustrated Weekly and Prairie Farmer (1882); Prairie Farmer (1882-present).
Available online: 1 January 1841 - 11 January 1941 (2476 issues)
Farm newspaper originally published in Chicago. By far the oldest, continuously published farm newspaper in the United States, the Prairie Farmer began in 1841 as the Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer. In its nearly 200 year existence, the paper has undergone a number of title and format changes. Considered to be one of the most important Midwestern farm newspapers ever published, not only for its influence on agriculture, but for its influence on rural life in general. It was, for example, one of the earliest and strongest supporters of the National Grange, and also an early advocate of "book farming" (the expression, in fact, appeared as the title of an article on the subject in the paper’s very first issue). In 1928, the paper bought a faltering Chicago radio station from Sears-Roebuck and Company, and turned it into a 50,000 watt, clear channel radio giant, capable of reaching listeners living anywhere between the Allegheny and the Rocky Mountains. Both the newspaper and its radio station (popularly called "The Prairie Farmer Station") played an important role in the daily lives of rural Americans, a point made by the dean of the University of Illinois’s College of Agriculture in a speech given during a special ceremony in 1938.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 December 1854
1 issue
2 Saturday, 2 December 1854
3 Sunday, 3 December 1854
4 Monday, 4 December 1854
5 Tuesday, 5 December 1854
6 Wednesday, 6 December 1854
7 Thursday, 7 December 1854
8 Friday, 8 December 1854
9 Saturday, 9 December 1854
10 Sunday, 10 December 1854
11 Monday, 11 December 1854
12 Tuesday, 12 December 1854
13 Wednesday, 13 December 1854
14 Thursday, 14 December 1854
15 Friday, 15 December 1854
16 Saturday, 16 December 1854
17 Sunday, 17 December 1854
18 Monday, 18 December 1854
19 Tuesday, 19 December 1854
20 Wednesday, 20 December 1854
21 Thursday, 21 December 1854
22 Friday, 22 December 1854
23 Saturday, 23 December 1854
24 Sunday, 24 December 1854
25 Monday, 25 December 1854
26 Tuesday, 26 December 1854
27 Wednesday, 27 December 1854
28 Thursday, 28 December 1854
29 Friday, 29 December 1854
30 Saturday, 30 December 1854
31 Sunday, 31 December 1854