Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 April 1868
2 Thursday, 2 April 1868
3 Friday, 3 April 1868
4 Saturday, 4 April 1868
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 April 1868
6 Monday, 6 April 1868
7 Tuesday, 7 April 1868
8 Wednesday, 8 April 1868
9 Thursday, 9 April 1868
10 Friday, 10 April 1868
11 Saturday, 11 April 1868
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 April 1868
13 Monday, 13 April 1868
14 Tuesday, 14 April 1868
15 Wednesday, 15 April 1868
16 Thursday, 16 April 1868
17 Friday, 17 April 1868
18 Saturday, 18 April 1868
19 Sunday, 19 April 1868
20 Monday, 20 April 1868
21 Tuesday, 21 April 1868
22 Wednesday, 22 April 1868
23 Thursday, 23 April 1868
24 Friday, 24 April 1868
25 Saturday, 25 April 1868
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 April 1868
27 Monday, 27 April 1868
28 Tuesday, 28 April 1868
29 Wednesday, 29 April 1868
30 Thursday, 30 April 1868