Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 October 1868
2 Friday, 2 October 1868
3 Saturday, 3 October 1868
1 issue
4 Sunday, 4 October 1868
5 Monday, 5 October 1868
6 Tuesday, 6 October 1868
7 Wednesday, 7 October 1868
8 Thursday, 8 October 1868
9 Friday, 9 October 1868
10 Saturday, 10 October 1868
1 issue
11 Sunday, 11 October 1868
12 Monday, 12 October 1868
13 Tuesday, 13 October 1868
14 Wednesday, 14 October 1868
15 Thursday, 15 October 1868
16 Friday, 16 October 1868
17 Saturday, 17 October 1868
1 issue
18 Sunday, 18 October 1868
19 Monday, 19 October 1868
20 Tuesday, 20 October 1868
21 Wednesday, 21 October 1868
22 Thursday, 22 October 1868
23 Friday, 23 October 1868
24 Saturday, 24 October 1868
1 issue
25 Sunday, 25 October 1868
26 Monday, 26 October 1868
27 Tuesday, 27 October 1868
28 Wednesday, 28 October 1868
29 Thursday, 29 October 1868
30 Friday, 30 October 1868
31 Saturday, 31 October 1868
1 issue