Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 February 1869
2 Tuesday, 2 February 1869
3 Wednesday, 3 February 1869
4 Thursday, 4 February 1869
1 issue
5 Friday, 5 February 1869
6 Saturday, 6 February 1869
7 Sunday, 7 February 1869
8 Monday, 8 February 1869
9 Tuesday, 9 February 1869
10 Wednesday, 10 February 1869
11 Thursday, 11 February 1869
1 issue
12 Friday, 12 February 1869
13 Saturday, 13 February 1869
14 Sunday, 14 February 1869
15 Monday, 15 February 1869
16 Tuesday, 16 February 1869
17 Wednesday, 17 February 1869
18 Thursday, 18 February 1869
1 issue
19 Friday, 19 February 1869
20 Saturday, 20 February 1869
21 Sunday, 21 February 1869
22 Monday, 22 February 1869
23 Tuesday, 23 February 1869
24 Wednesday, 24 February 1869
25 Thursday, 25 February 1869
1 issue
26 Friday, 26 February 1869
27 Saturday, 27 February 1869
28 Sunday, 28 February 1869