Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 May 1869
2 Sunday, 2 May 1869
3 Monday, 3 May 1869
4 Tuesday, 4 May 1869
5 Wednesday, 5 May 1869
6 Thursday, 6 May 1869
1 issue
7 Friday, 7 May 1869
8 Saturday, 8 May 1869
9 Sunday, 9 May 1869
10 Monday, 10 May 1869
11 Tuesday, 11 May 1869
12 Wednesday, 12 May 1869
13 Thursday, 13 May 1869
1 issue
14 Friday, 14 May 1869
15 Saturday, 15 May 1869
16 Sunday, 16 May 1869
17 Monday, 17 May 1869
18 Tuesday, 18 May 1869
19 Wednesday, 19 May 1869
20 Thursday, 20 May 1869
1 issue
21 Friday, 21 May 1869
22 Saturday, 22 May 1869
23 Sunday, 23 May 1869
24 Monday, 24 May 1869
25 Tuesday, 25 May 1869
26 Wednesday, 26 May 1869
27 Thursday, 27 May 1869
1 issue
28 Friday, 28 May 1869
29 Saturday, 29 May 1869
30 Sunday, 30 May 1869
31 Monday, 31 May 1869