Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 September 1870
1 issue
2 Friday, 2 September 1870
3 Saturday, 3 September 1870
4 Sunday, 4 September 1870
5 Monday, 5 September 1870
6 Tuesday, 6 September 1870
7 Wednesday, 7 September 1870
8 Thursday, 8 September 1870
1 issue
9 Friday, 9 September 1870
10 Saturday, 10 September 1870
11 Sunday, 11 September 1870
12 Monday, 12 September 1870
13 Tuesday, 13 September 1870
14 Wednesday, 14 September 1870
15 Thursday, 15 September 1870
1 issue
16 Friday, 16 September 1870
17 Saturday, 17 September 1870
18 Sunday, 18 September 1870
19 Monday, 19 September 1870
20 Tuesday, 20 September 1870
21 Wednesday, 21 September 1870
22 Thursday, 22 September 1870
1 issue
23 Friday, 23 September 1870
24 Saturday, 24 September 1870
25 Sunday, 25 September 1870
26 Monday, 26 September 1870
27 Tuesday, 27 September 1870
28 Wednesday, 28 September 1870
29 Thursday, 29 September 1870
1 issue
30 Friday, 30 September 1870