Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 October 1871
2 Monday, 2 October 1871
3 Tuesday, 3 October 1871
4 Wednesday, 4 October 1871
5 Thursday, 5 October 1871
6 Friday, 6 October 1871
7 Saturday, 7 October 1871
1 issue
8 Sunday, 8 October 1871
9 Monday, 9 October 1871
10 Tuesday, 10 October 1871
11 Wednesday, 11 October 1871
12 Thursday, 12 October 1871
13 Friday, 13 October 1871
14 Saturday, 14 October 1871
15 Sunday, 15 October 1871
16 Monday, 16 October 1871
17 Tuesday, 17 October 1871
18 Wednesday, 18 October 1871
19 Thursday, 19 October 1871
20 Friday, 20 October 1871
21 Saturday, 21 October 1871
22 Sunday, 22 October 1871
23 Monday, 23 October 1871
24 Tuesday, 24 October 1871
25 Wednesday, 25 October 1871
26 Thursday, 26 October 1871
27 Friday, 27 October 1871
28 Saturday, 28 October 1871
29 Sunday, 29 October 1871
30 Monday, 30 October 1871
31 Tuesday, 31 October 1871