The Student

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: The Student
City: Urbana, Ill.
County: Champaign
Available online: 1 November 1871 - 1 December 1873 (23 issues)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign student newspaper. Published monthly from 1871 to 1873, for what was then called Illinois Industrial University (the current name would be adopted in 1885), it served as a forum for the expression of the "New Education" which the University utilized at that time. This referred to the union of liberal arts, engineering, and agriculture in the curriculum. These different academic departments had sections "side by side" in the paper. The editors equated these "divisions of learning" within the school with the "complicated structure of human knowledge."

It combined essays from different disciplines with news articles, advertisements, and University announcements. These included items about University cadets traveling to Chicago to assist in the aftermath of the Great Fire of 1871, as well as minutes of administration committee meetings.

Its final issue appeared in December of 1873. Though the reason for its demise is unknown, the editors noted that they were unsure of the paper’s prospects for the coming year. Perhaps they were graduating, or funds may have run out. It was succeeded by The Illini, which still exists today as the Daily Illini.

This title is available thanks to the generosity of Karl W. Greve.

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 December 1871
1 issue
2 Saturday, 2 December 1871
3 Sunday, 3 December 1871
4 Monday, 4 December 1871
5 Tuesday, 5 December 1871
6 Wednesday, 6 December 1871
7 Thursday, 7 December 1871
8 Friday, 8 December 1871
9 Saturday, 9 December 1871
10 Sunday, 10 December 1871
11 Monday, 11 December 1871
12 Tuesday, 12 December 1871
13 Wednesday, 13 December 1871
14 Thursday, 14 December 1871
15 Friday, 15 December 1871
16 Saturday, 16 December 1871
17 Sunday, 17 December 1871
18 Monday, 18 December 1871
19 Tuesday, 19 December 1871
20 Wednesday, 20 December 1871
21 Thursday, 21 December 1871
22 Friday, 22 December 1871
23 Saturday, 23 December 1871
24 Sunday, 24 December 1871
25 Monday, 25 December 1871
26 Tuesday, 26 December 1871
27 Wednesday, 27 December 1871
28 Thursday, 28 December 1871
29 Friday, 29 December 1871
30 Saturday, 30 December 1871
31 Sunday, 31 December 1871