Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 August 1875
2 Monday, 2 August 1875
3 Tuesday, 3 August 1875
4 Wednesday, 4 August 1875
5 Thursday, 5 August 1875
6 Friday, 6 August 1875
7 Saturday, 7 August 1875
1 issue
8 Sunday, 8 August 1875
9 Monday, 9 August 1875
10 Tuesday, 10 August 1875
11 Wednesday, 11 August 1875
12 Thursday, 12 August 1875
13 Friday, 13 August 1875
14 Saturday, 14 August 1875
1 issue
15 Sunday, 15 August 1875
16 Monday, 16 August 1875
17 Tuesday, 17 August 1875
18 Wednesday, 18 August 1875
19 Thursday, 19 August 1875
20 Friday, 20 August 1875
21 Saturday, 21 August 1875
1 issue
22 Sunday, 22 August 1875
23 Monday, 23 August 1875
24 Tuesday, 24 August 1875
25 Wednesday, 25 August 1875
26 Thursday, 26 August 1875
27 Friday, 27 August 1875
28 Saturday, 28 August 1875
1 issue
29 Sunday, 29 August 1875
30 Monday, 30 August 1875
31 Tuesday, 31 August 1875