Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 January 1876
1 issue
2 Sunday, 2 January 1876
3 Monday, 3 January 1876
4 Tuesday, 4 January 1876
5 Wednesday, 5 January 1876
6 Thursday, 6 January 1876
7 Friday, 7 January 1876
8 Saturday, 8 January 1876
1 issue
9 Sunday, 9 January 1876
10 Monday, 10 January 1876
11 Tuesday, 11 January 1876
12 Wednesday, 12 January 1876
13 Thursday, 13 January 1876
14 Friday, 14 January 1876
15 Saturday, 15 January 1876
1 issue
16 Sunday, 16 January 1876
17 Monday, 17 January 1876
18 Tuesday, 18 January 1876
19 Wednesday, 19 January 1876
20 Thursday, 20 January 1876
21 Friday, 21 January 1876
22 Saturday, 22 January 1876
1 issue
23 Sunday, 23 January 1876
24 Monday, 24 January 1876
25 Tuesday, 25 January 1876
26 Wednesday, 26 January 1876
27 Thursday, 27 January 1876
28 Friday, 28 January 1876
29 Saturday, 29 January 1876
1 issue
30 Sunday, 30 January 1876
31 Monday, 31 January 1876