Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 May 1876
2 Tuesday, 2 May 1876
3 Wednesday, 3 May 1876
4 Thursday, 4 May 1876
5 Friday, 5 May 1876
6 Saturday, 6 May 1876
1 issue
7 Sunday, 7 May 1876
8 Monday, 8 May 1876
9 Tuesday, 9 May 1876
10 Wednesday, 10 May 1876
11 Thursday, 11 May 1876
12 Friday, 12 May 1876
13 Saturday, 13 May 1876
1 issue
14 Sunday, 14 May 1876
15 Monday, 15 May 1876
16 Tuesday, 16 May 1876
17 Wednesday, 17 May 1876
18 Thursday, 18 May 1876
19 Friday, 19 May 1876
20 Saturday, 20 May 1876
1 issue
21 Sunday, 21 May 1876
22 Monday, 22 May 1876
23 Tuesday, 23 May 1876
24 Wednesday, 24 May 1876
25 Thursday, 25 May 1876
26 Friday, 26 May 1876
27 Saturday, 27 May 1876
1 issue
28 Sunday, 28 May 1876
29 Monday, 29 May 1876
30 Tuesday, 30 May 1876
31 Wednesday, 31 May 1876