Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Tuesday, 1 January 1878
2 Wednesday, 2 January 1878
3 Thursday, 3 January 1878
4 Friday, 4 January 1878
5 Saturday, 5 January 1878
1 issue
6 Sunday, 6 January 1878
7 Monday, 7 January 1878
8 Tuesday, 8 January 1878
9 Wednesday, 9 January 1878
10 Thursday, 10 January 1878
11 Friday, 11 January 1878
12 Saturday, 12 January 1878
1 issue
13 Sunday, 13 January 1878
14 Monday, 14 January 1878
15 Tuesday, 15 January 1878
16 Wednesday, 16 January 1878
17 Thursday, 17 January 1878
18 Friday, 18 January 1878
19 Saturday, 19 January 1878
1 issue
20 Sunday, 20 January 1878
21 Monday, 21 January 1878
22 Tuesday, 22 January 1878
23 Wednesday, 23 January 1878
24 Thursday, 24 January 1878
25 Friday, 25 January 1878
26 Saturday, 26 January 1878
1 issue
27 Sunday, 27 January 1878
28 Monday, 28 January 1878
29 Tuesday, 29 January 1878
30 Wednesday, 30 January 1878
31 Thursday, 31 January 1878