Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 May 1878
2 Thursday, 2 May 1878
3 Friday, 3 May 1878
4 Saturday, 4 May 1878
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 May 1878
6 Monday, 6 May 1878
7 Tuesday, 7 May 1878
8 Wednesday, 8 May 1878
9 Thursday, 9 May 1878
10 Friday, 10 May 1878
11 Saturday, 11 May 1878
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 May 1878
13 Monday, 13 May 1878
14 Tuesday, 14 May 1878
15 Wednesday, 15 May 1878
16 Thursday, 16 May 1878
17 Friday, 17 May 1878
18 Saturday, 18 May 1878
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 May 1878
20 Monday, 20 May 1878
21 Tuesday, 21 May 1878
22 Wednesday, 22 May 1878
23 Thursday, 23 May 1878
24 Friday, 24 May 1878
25 Saturday, 25 May 1878
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 May 1878
27 Monday, 27 May 1878
28 Tuesday, 28 May 1878
29 Wednesday, 29 May 1878
30 Thursday, 30 May 1878
31 Friday, 31 May 1878