Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 July 1878
2 Tuesday, 2 July 1878
3 Wednesday, 3 July 1878
4 Thursday, 4 July 1878
5 Friday, 5 July 1878
6 Saturday, 6 July 1878
1 issue
7 Sunday, 7 July 1878
8 Monday, 8 July 1878
9 Tuesday, 9 July 1878
10 Wednesday, 10 July 1878
11 Thursday, 11 July 1878
12 Friday, 12 July 1878
13 Saturday, 13 July 1878
1 issue
14 Sunday, 14 July 1878
15 Monday, 15 July 1878
16 Tuesday, 16 July 1878
17 Wednesday, 17 July 1878
18 Thursday, 18 July 1878
19 Friday, 19 July 1878
20 Saturday, 20 July 1878
1 issue
21 Sunday, 21 July 1878
22 Monday, 22 July 1878
23 Tuesday, 23 July 1878
24 Wednesday, 24 July 1878
25 Thursday, 25 July 1878
26 Friday, 26 July 1878
27 Saturday, 27 July 1878
1 issue
28 Sunday, 28 July 1878
29 Monday, 29 July 1878
30 Tuesday, 30 July 1878
31 Wednesday, 31 July 1878