Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 November 1878
2 Saturday, 2 November 1878
1 issue
3 Sunday, 3 November 1878
4 Monday, 4 November 1878
5 Tuesday, 5 November 1878
6 Wednesday, 6 November 1878
7 Thursday, 7 November 1878
8 Friday, 8 November 1878
9 Saturday, 9 November 1878
1 issue
10 Sunday, 10 November 1878
11 Monday, 11 November 1878
12 Tuesday, 12 November 1878
13 Wednesday, 13 November 1878
14 Thursday, 14 November 1878
15 Friday, 15 November 1878
16 Saturday, 16 November 1878
1 issue
17 Sunday, 17 November 1878
18 Monday, 18 November 1878
19 Tuesday, 19 November 1878
20 Wednesday, 20 November 1878
21 Thursday, 21 November 1878
22 Friday, 22 November 1878
23 Saturday, 23 November 1878
1 issue
24 Sunday, 24 November 1878
25 Monday, 25 November 1878
26 Tuesday, 26 November 1878
27 Wednesday, 27 November 1878
28 Thursday, 28 November 1878
29 Friday, 29 November 1878
30 Saturday, 30 November 1878
1 issue