Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 January 1879
2 Thursday, 2 January 1879
3 Friday, 3 January 1879
4 Saturday, 4 January 1879
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 January 1879
6 Monday, 6 January 1879
7 Tuesday, 7 January 1879
8 Wednesday, 8 January 1879
9 Thursday, 9 January 1879
10 Friday, 10 January 1879
11 Saturday, 11 January 1879
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 January 1879
13 Monday, 13 January 1879
14 Tuesday, 14 January 1879
15 Wednesday, 15 January 1879
16 Thursday, 16 January 1879
17 Friday, 17 January 1879
18 Saturday, 18 January 1879
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 January 1879
20 Monday, 20 January 1879
21 Tuesday, 21 January 1879
22 Wednesday, 22 January 1879
23 Thursday, 23 January 1879
24 Friday, 24 January 1879
25 Saturday, 25 January 1879
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 January 1879
27 Monday, 27 January 1879
28 Tuesday, 28 January 1879
29 Wednesday, 29 January 1879
30 Thursday, 30 January 1879
31 Friday, 31 January 1879