Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 September 1879
2 Tuesday, 2 September 1879
3 Wednesday, 3 September 1879
4 Thursday, 4 September 1879
5 Friday, 5 September 1879
6 Saturday, 6 September 1879
1 issue
7 Sunday, 7 September 1879
8 Monday, 8 September 1879
9 Tuesday, 9 September 1879
10 Wednesday, 10 September 1879
11 Thursday, 11 September 1879
12 Friday, 12 September 1879
13 Saturday, 13 September 1879
1 issue
14 Sunday, 14 September 1879
15 Monday, 15 September 1879
16 Tuesday, 16 September 1879
17 Wednesday, 17 September 1879
18 Thursday, 18 September 1879
19 Friday, 19 September 1879
20 Saturday, 20 September 1879
1 issue
21 Sunday, 21 September 1879
22 Monday, 22 September 1879
23 Tuesday, 23 September 1879
24 Wednesday, 24 September 1879
25 Thursday, 25 September 1879
26 Friday, 26 September 1879
27 Saturday, 27 September 1879
1 issue
28 Sunday, 28 September 1879
29 Monday, 29 September 1879
30 Tuesday, 30 September 1879