Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 May 1880
1 issue
2 Sunday, 2 May 1880
3 Monday, 3 May 1880
4 Tuesday, 4 May 1880
5 Wednesday, 5 May 1880
6 Thursday, 6 May 1880
7 Friday, 7 May 1880
8 Saturday, 8 May 1880
1 issue
9 Sunday, 9 May 1880
10 Monday, 10 May 1880
11 Tuesday, 11 May 1880
12 Wednesday, 12 May 1880
13 Thursday, 13 May 1880
14 Friday, 14 May 1880
15 Saturday, 15 May 1880
1 issue
16 Sunday, 16 May 1880
17 Monday, 17 May 1880
18 Tuesday, 18 May 1880
19 Wednesday, 19 May 1880
20 Thursday, 20 May 1880
21 Friday, 21 May 1880
22 Saturday, 22 May 1880
1 issue
23 Sunday, 23 May 1880
24 Monday, 24 May 1880
25 Tuesday, 25 May 1880
26 Wednesday, 26 May 1880
27 Thursday, 27 May 1880
28 Friday, 28 May 1880
29 Saturday, 29 May 1880
1 issue
30 Sunday, 30 May 1880
31 Monday, 31 May 1880