Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 June 1881
2 Thursday, 2 June 1881
3 Friday, 3 June 1881
4 Saturday, 4 June 1881
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 June 1881
6 Monday, 6 June 1881
7 Tuesday, 7 June 1881
8 Wednesday, 8 June 1881
9 Thursday, 9 June 1881
10 Friday, 10 June 1881
11 Saturday, 11 June 1881
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 June 1881
13 Monday, 13 June 1881
14 Tuesday, 14 June 1881
15 Wednesday, 15 June 1881
16 Thursday, 16 June 1881
17 Friday, 17 June 1881
18 Saturday, 18 June 1881
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 June 1881
20 Monday, 20 June 1881
21 Tuesday, 21 June 1881
22 Wednesday, 22 June 1881
23 Thursday, 23 June 1881
24 Friday, 24 June 1881
25 Saturday, 25 June 1881
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 June 1881
27 Monday, 27 June 1881
28 Tuesday, 28 June 1881
29 Wednesday, 29 June 1881
30 Thursday, 30 June 1881