Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 July 1881
2 Saturday, 2 July 1881
1 issue
3 Sunday, 3 July 1881
4 Monday, 4 July 1881
5 Tuesday, 5 July 1881
6 Wednesday, 6 July 1881
7 Thursday, 7 July 1881
8 Friday, 8 July 1881
9 Saturday, 9 July 1881
1 issue
10 Sunday, 10 July 1881
11 Monday, 11 July 1881
12 Tuesday, 12 July 1881
13 Wednesday, 13 July 1881
14 Thursday, 14 July 1881
15 Friday, 15 July 1881
16 Saturday, 16 July 1881
1 issue
17 Sunday, 17 July 1881
18 Monday, 18 July 1881
19 Tuesday, 19 July 1881
20 Wednesday, 20 July 1881
21 Thursday, 21 July 1881
22 Friday, 22 July 1881
23 Saturday, 23 July 1881
1 issue
24 Sunday, 24 July 1881
25 Monday, 25 July 1881
26 Tuesday, 26 July 1881
27 Wednesday, 27 July 1881
28 Thursday, 28 July 1881
29 Friday, 29 July 1881
30 Saturday, 30 July 1881
1 issue
31 Sunday, 31 July 1881