Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 September 1881
2 Friday, 2 September 1881
3 Saturday, 3 September 1881
1 issue
4 Sunday, 4 September 1881
5 Monday, 5 September 1881
6 Tuesday, 6 September 1881
7 Wednesday, 7 September 1881
8 Thursday, 8 September 1881
9 Friday, 9 September 1881
10 Saturday, 10 September 1881
1 issue
11 Sunday, 11 September 1881
12 Monday, 12 September 1881
13 Tuesday, 13 September 1881
14 Wednesday, 14 September 1881
15 Thursday, 15 September 1881
16 Friday, 16 September 1881
17 Saturday, 17 September 1881
1 issue
18 Sunday, 18 September 1881
19 Monday, 19 September 1881
20 Tuesday, 20 September 1881
21 Wednesday, 21 September 1881
22 Thursday, 22 September 1881
23 Friday, 23 September 1881
24 Saturday, 24 September 1881
1 issue
25 Sunday, 25 September 1881
26 Monday, 26 September 1881
27 Tuesday, 27 September 1881
28 Wednesday, 28 September 1881
29 Thursday, 29 September 1881
30 Friday, 30 September 1881