Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 January 1882
2 Monday, 2 January 1882
3 Tuesday, 3 January 1882
4 Wednesday, 4 January 1882
5 Thursday, 5 January 1882
6 Friday, 6 January 1882
7 Saturday, 7 January 1882
1 issue
8 Sunday, 8 January 1882
9 Monday, 9 January 1882
10 Tuesday, 10 January 1882
11 Wednesday, 11 January 1882
12 Thursday, 12 January 1882
13 Friday, 13 January 1882
14 Saturday, 14 January 1882
1 issue
15 Sunday, 15 January 1882
16 Monday, 16 January 1882
17 Tuesday, 17 January 1882
18 Wednesday, 18 January 1882
19 Thursday, 19 January 1882
20 Friday, 20 January 1882
21 Saturday, 21 January 1882
1 issue
22 Sunday, 22 January 1882
23 Monday, 23 January 1882
24 Tuesday, 24 January 1882
25 Wednesday, 25 January 1882
26 Thursday, 26 January 1882
27 Friday, 27 January 1882
28 Saturday, 28 January 1882
1 issue
29 Sunday, 29 January 1882
30 Monday, 30 January 1882
31 Tuesday, 31 January 1882