Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 November 1882
2 Thursday, 2 November 1882
3 Friday, 3 November 1882
4 Saturday, 4 November 1882
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 November 1882
6 Monday, 6 November 1882
7 Tuesday, 7 November 1882
8 Wednesday, 8 November 1882
9 Thursday, 9 November 1882
10 Friday, 10 November 1882
11 Saturday, 11 November 1882
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 November 1882
13 Monday, 13 November 1882
14 Tuesday, 14 November 1882
15 Wednesday, 15 November 1882
16 Thursday, 16 November 1882
17 Friday, 17 November 1882
18 Saturday, 18 November 1882
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 November 1882
20 Monday, 20 November 1882
21 Tuesday, 21 November 1882
22 Wednesday, 22 November 1882
23 Thursday, 23 November 1882
24 Friday, 24 November 1882
25 Saturday, 25 November 1882
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 November 1882
27 Monday, 27 November 1882
28 Tuesday, 28 November 1882
29 Wednesday, 29 November 1882
30 Thursday, 30 November 1882