Western Rural

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural, Chicago edition (1862-1883). Merged with: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly), to form: Western Rural and American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1883).
Available online: 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 March 1883
2 Friday, 2 March 1883
3 Saturday, 3 March 1883
1 issue
4 Sunday, 4 March 1883
5 Monday, 5 March 1883
6 Tuesday, 6 March 1883
7 Wednesday, 7 March 1883
8 Thursday, 8 March 1883
9 Friday, 9 March 1883
10 Saturday, 10 March 1883
1 issue
11 Sunday, 11 March 1883
12 Monday, 12 March 1883
13 Tuesday, 13 March 1883
14 Wednesday, 14 March 1883
15 Thursday, 15 March 1883
16 Friday, 16 March 1883
17 Saturday, 17 March 1883
1 issue
18 Sunday, 18 March 1883
19 Monday, 19 March 1883
20 Tuesday, 20 March 1883
21 Wednesday, 21 March 1883
22 Thursday, 22 March 1883
23 Friday, 23 March 1883
24 Saturday, 24 March 1883
1 issue
25 Sunday, 25 March 1883
26 Monday, 26 March 1883
27 Tuesday, 27 March 1883
28 Wednesday, 28 March 1883
29 Thursday, 29 March 1883
30 Friday, 30 March 1883
31 Saturday, 31 March 1883
1 issue