Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 August 1885
1 issue
2 Sunday, 2 August 1885
3 Monday, 3 August 1885
4 Tuesday, 4 August 1885
5 Wednesday, 5 August 1885
6 Thursday, 6 August 1885
7 Friday, 7 August 1885
8 Saturday, 8 August 1885
1 issue
9 Sunday, 9 August 1885
10 Monday, 10 August 1885
11 Tuesday, 11 August 1885
12 Wednesday, 12 August 1885
13 Thursday, 13 August 1885
14 Friday, 14 August 1885
15 Saturday, 15 August 1885
1 issue
16 Sunday, 16 August 1885
17 Monday, 17 August 1885
18 Tuesday, 18 August 1885
19 Wednesday, 19 August 1885
20 Thursday, 20 August 1885
21 Friday, 21 August 1885
22 Saturday, 22 August 1885
1 issue
23 Sunday, 23 August 1885
24 Monday, 24 August 1885
25 Tuesday, 25 August 1885
26 Wednesday, 26 August 1885
27 Thursday, 27 August 1885
28 Friday, 28 August 1885
29 Saturday, 29 August 1885
1 issue
30 Sunday, 30 August 1885
31 Monday, 31 August 1885