Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 November 1885
2 Monday, 2 November 1885
3 Tuesday, 3 November 1885
4 Wednesday, 4 November 1885
5 Thursday, 5 November 1885
6 Friday, 6 November 1885
7 Saturday, 7 November 1885
1 issue
8 Sunday, 8 November 1885
9 Monday, 9 November 1885
10 Tuesday, 10 November 1885
11 Wednesday, 11 November 1885
12 Thursday, 12 November 1885
13 Friday, 13 November 1885
14 Saturday, 14 November 1885
1 issue
15 Sunday, 15 November 1885
16 Monday, 16 November 1885
17 Tuesday, 17 November 1885
18 Wednesday, 18 November 1885
19 Thursday, 19 November 1885
20 Friday, 20 November 1885
21 Saturday, 21 November 1885
1 issue
22 Sunday, 22 November 1885
23 Monday, 23 November 1885
24 Tuesday, 24 November 1885
25 Wednesday, 25 November 1885
26 Thursday, 26 November 1885
27 Friday, 27 November 1885
28 Saturday, 28 November 1885
1 issue
29 Sunday, 29 November 1885
30 Monday, 30 November 1885