Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 April 1891
2 Thursday, 2 April 1891
3 Friday, 3 April 1891
4 Saturday, 4 April 1891
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 April 1891
6 Monday, 6 April 1891
7 Tuesday, 7 April 1891
8 Wednesday, 8 April 1891
9 Thursday, 9 April 1891
10 Friday, 10 April 1891
11 Saturday, 11 April 1891
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 April 1891
13 Monday, 13 April 1891
14 Tuesday, 14 April 1891
15 Wednesday, 15 April 1891
16 Thursday, 16 April 1891
17 Friday, 17 April 1891
18 Saturday, 18 April 1891
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 April 1891
20 Monday, 20 April 1891
21 Tuesday, 21 April 1891
22 Wednesday, 22 April 1891
23 Thursday, 23 April 1891
24 Friday, 24 April 1891
25 Saturday, 25 April 1891
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 April 1891
27 Monday, 27 April 1891
28 Tuesday, 28 April 1891
29 Wednesday, 29 April 1891
30 Thursday, 30 April 1891