Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 January 1892
2 Saturday, 2 January 1892
1 issue
3 Sunday, 3 January 1892
4 Monday, 4 January 1892
5 Tuesday, 5 January 1892
6 Wednesday, 6 January 1892
7 Thursday, 7 January 1892
8 Friday, 8 January 1892
9 Saturday, 9 January 1892
1 issue
10 Sunday, 10 January 1892
11 Monday, 11 January 1892
12 Tuesday, 12 January 1892
13 Wednesday, 13 January 1892
14 Thursday, 14 January 1892
15 Friday, 15 January 1892
16 Saturday, 16 January 1892
1 issue
17 Sunday, 17 January 1892
18 Monday, 18 January 1892
19 Tuesday, 19 January 1892
20 Wednesday, 20 January 1892
21 Thursday, 21 January 1892
22 Friday, 22 January 1892
23 Saturday, 23 January 1892
1 issue
24 Sunday, 24 January 1892
25 Monday, 25 January 1892
26 Tuesday, 26 January 1892
27 Wednesday, 27 January 1892
28 Thursday, 28 January 1892
29 Friday, 29 January 1892
30 Saturday, 30 January 1892
1 issue
31 Sunday, 31 January 1892