Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Sunday, 1 January 1893
2 Monday, 2 January 1893
3 Tuesday, 3 January 1893
4 Wednesday, 4 January 1893
5 Thursday, 5 January 1893
6 Friday, 6 January 1893
7 Saturday, 7 January 1893
1 issue
8 Sunday, 8 January 1893
9 Monday, 9 January 1893
10 Tuesday, 10 January 1893
11 Wednesday, 11 January 1893
12 Thursday, 12 January 1893
13 Friday, 13 January 1893
14 Saturday, 14 January 1893
1 issue
15 Sunday, 15 January 1893
16 Monday, 16 January 1893
17 Tuesday, 17 January 1893
18 Wednesday, 18 January 1893
19 Thursday, 19 January 1893
20 Friday, 20 January 1893
21 Saturday, 21 January 1893
1 issue
22 Sunday, 22 January 1893
23 Monday, 23 January 1893
24 Tuesday, 24 January 1893
25 Wednesday, 25 January 1893
26 Thursday, 26 January 1893
27 Friday, 27 January 1893
28 Saturday, 28 January 1893
1 issue
29 Sunday, 29 January 1893
30 Monday, 30 January 1893
1 issue
31 Tuesday, 31 January 1893