Western Rural and American Stockman

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Western Rural and American Stockman
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Western Rural and American Stockman (1883-1895). Formed by the merger of: Western Rural (Chicago, Ill. : 1863), and: American Stockman (Chicago, Ill. : 1879 : Weekly). Continued by: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896).
Available online: 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Established in 1862 as an 8 page weekly that catered to both the farmer and the farm family. During the paper’s early years, its chief competitor was the Prairie Farmer, after which the Western Rural was very likely modeled. The paper quickly became a success. In 1872, Milton George joined the staff as an assistant editor, and eventually bought the paper outright in 1876. Under George’s leadership, the paper shifted its editorial stance, becoming an important activist voice in the populist movement then gaining political strength in the rural Midwest. In 1883, the paper merged with the American Stockman to form the Western Rural and American Stockman. Subjects: Book farming; Market reports; Letters; Advice; Home economics; Gardening; News; Poetry; Fiction; Advertisements; Book reviews; Book lists; Children's section; Railway timetables; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 July 1893
1 issue
2 Sunday, 2 July 1893
3 Monday, 3 July 1893
4 Tuesday, 4 July 1893
5 Wednesday, 5 July 1893
6 Thursday, 6 July 1893
7 Friday, 7 July 1893
8 Saturday, 8 July 1893
1 issue
9 Sunday, 9 July 1893
10 Monday, 10 July 1893
11 Tuesday, 11 July 1893
12 Wednesday, 12 July 1893
13 Thursday, 13 July 1893
14 Friday, 14 July 1893
15 Saturday, 15 July 1893
1 issue
16 Sunday, 16 July 1893
17 Monday, 17 July 1893
18 Tuesday, 18 July 1893
19 Wednesday, 19 July 1893
20 Thursday, 20 July 1893
21 Friday, 21 July 1893
22 Saturday, 22 July 1893
1 issue
23 Sunday, 23 July 1893
24 Monday, 24 July 1893
25 Tuesday, 25 July 1893
26 Wednesday, 26 July 1893
27 Thursday, 27 July 1893
28 Friday, 28 July 1893
29 Saturday, 29 July 1893
30 Sunday, 30 July 1893
31 Monday, 31 July 1893