Prairie Farmer

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Prairie Farmer
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer (1841-1842); Prairie Farmer (1843-1858); Emery's Journal of Agriculture and Prairie Farmer (1858); Prairie Farmer (1859-1882); People's Illustrated Weekly and Prairie Farmer (1882); Prairie Farmer (1882-present).
Available online: 1 January 1841 - 11 January 1941 (2476 issues)
Farm newspaper originally published in Chicago. By far the oldest, continuously published farm newspaper in the United States, the Prairie Farmer began in 1841 as the Union Agriculturist and Western Prairie Farmer. In its nearly 200 year existence, the paper has undergone a number of title and format changes. Considered to be one of the most important Midwestern farm newspapers ever published, not only for its influence on agriculture, but for its influence on rural life in general. It was, for example, one of the earliest and strongest supporters of the National Grange, and also an early advocate of "book farming" (the expression, in fact, appeared as the title of an article on the subject in the paper’s very first issue). In 1928, the paper bought a faltering Chicago radio station from Sears-Roebuck and Company, and turned it into a 50,000 watt, clear channel radio giant, capable of reaching listeners living anywhere between the Allegheny and the Rocky Mountains. Both the newspaper and its radio station (popularly called "The Prairie Farmer Station") played an important role in the daily lives of rural Americans, a point made by the dean of the University of Illinois’s College of Agriculture in a speech given during a special ceremony in 1938.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Saturday, 1 September 1894
1 issue
2 Sunday, 2 September 1894
3 Monday, 3 September 1894
4 Tuesday, 4 September 1894
5 Wednesday, 5 September 1894
6 Thursday, 6 September 1894
7 Friday, 7 September 1894
8 Saturday, 8 September 1894
1 issue
9 Sunday, 9 September 1894
10 Monday, 10 September 1894
11 Tuesday, 11 September 1894
12 Wednesday, 12 September 1894
13 Thursday, 13 September 1894
14 Friday, 14 September 1894
15 Saturday, 15 September 1894
1 issue
16 Sunday, 16 September 1894
17 Monday, 17 September 1894
18 Tuesday, 18 September 1894
19 Wednesday, 19 September 1894
20 Thursday, 20 September 1894
21 Friday, 21 September 1894
22 Saturday, 22 September 1894
1 issue
23 Sunday, 23 September 1894
24 Monday, 24 September 1894
25 Tuesday, 25 September 1894
26 Wednesday, 26 September 1894
27 Thursday, 27 September 1894
28 Friday, 28 September 1894
29 Saturday, 29 September 1894
1 issue
30 Sunday, 30 September 1894