National Rural and Family Magazine

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: National Rural and Family Magazine
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: National Rural and Family Magazine (1898-1901). Continues: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896). Absorbed by: Farmer's Voice (Chicago, Ill. : 1887).
Available online: 3 November 1898 - 22 February 1900 (69 issues)
Weekly farm newspaper published in Chicago. Successor to the Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly, and continuing that publication's 9 X 13 inch magazine format. The name change was a recognition that Chicago could no longer be considered part of the American West, but also because the paper had expanded from a regional to a national circulation. The editors also conceived the new publication as "a step forward in the line of progressive journalism". Its editor, W.B. Lloyd, left for a position as Professor of Horticulture at the University of Illinois, and became very active in farmers' institutes across the state. In May, 1901, the newspaper was acquired by the Farmer's Voice Corporation, and was eventually merged with the Farmers Voice several months later (October 19, 1901).
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 December 1899
2 Saturday, 2 December 1899
3 Sunday, 3 December 1899
4 Monday, 4 December 1899
5 Tuesday, 5 December 1899
6 Wednesday, 6 December 1899
7 Thursday, 7 December 1899
1 issue
8 Friday, 8 December 1899
9 Saturday, 9 December 1899
10 Sunday, 10 December 1899
11 Monday, 11 December 1899
12 Tuesday, 12 December 1899
13 Wednesday, 13 December 1899
14 Thursday, 14 December 1899
1 issue
15 Friday, 15 December 1899
16 Saturday, 16 December 1899
17 Sunday, 17 December 1899
18 Monday, 18 December 1899
19 Tuesday, 19 December 1899
20 Wednesday, 20 December 1899
21 Thursday, 21 December 1899
1 issue
22 Friday, 22 December 1899
23 Saturday, 23 December 1899
24 Sunday, 24 December 1899
25 Monday, 25 December 1899
26 Tuesday, 26 December 1899
27 Wednesday, 27 December 1899
28 Thursday, 28 December 1899
1 issue
29 Friday, 29 December 1899
30 Saturday, 30 December 1899
31 Sunday, 31 December 1899