National Rural and Family Magazine

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: National Rural and Family Magazine
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: National Rural and Family Magazine (1898-1901). Continues: Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly (Chicago, Ill. : 1896). Absorbed by: Farmer's Voice (Chicago, Ill. : 1887).
Available online: 3 November 1898 - 22 February 1900 (69 issues)
Weekly farm newspaper published in Chicago. Successor to the Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly, and continuing that publication's 9 X 13 inch magazine format. The name change was a recognition that Chicago could no longer be considered part of the American West, but also because the paper had expanded from a regional to a national circulation. The editors also conceived the new publication as "a step forward in the line of progressive journalism". Its editor, W.B. Lloyd, left for a position as Professor of Horticulture at the University of Illinois, and became very active in farmers' institutes across the state. In May, 1901, the newspaper was acquired by the Farmer's Voice Corporation, and was eventually merged with the Farmers Voice several months later (October 19, 1901).
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 February 1900
1 issue
2 Friday, 2 February 1900
3 Saturday, 3 February 1900
4 Sunday, 4 February 1900
5 Monday, 5 February 1900
6 Tuesday, 6 February 1900
7 Wednesday, 7 February 1900
8 Thursday, 8 February 1900
1 issue
9 Friday, 9 February 1900
10 Saturday, 10 February 1900
11 Sunday, 11 February 1900
12 Monday, 12 February 1900
13 Tuesday, 13 February 1900
14 Wednesday, 14 February 1900
15 Thursday, 15 February 1900
1 issue
16 Friday, 16 February 1900
17 Saturday, 17 February 1900
18 Sunday, 18 February 1900
19 Monday, 19 February 1900
20 Tuesday, 20 February 1900
21 Wednesday, 21 February 1900
22 Thursday, 22 February 1900
1 issue
23 Friday, 23 February 1900
24 Saturday, 24 February 1900
25 Sunday, 25 February 1900
26 Monday, 26 February 1900
27 Tuesday, 27 February 1900
28 Wednesday, 28 February 1900