Farmers Voice

Search this Title

About this Title

Title: Farmers Voice
City: Chicago, Ill.
County: Cook
Frequency: Weekly
History: Farmers Voice (1887-1913). Continues: National Rural and Family Magazine (Chicago, Ill. : 1898).
Available online: 1 January 1898 - 15 May 1913 (423 issues)
Farm newspaper published in Chicago. Began in 1887 as a 10 X 16 inch, 16 page weekly. The paper was known for its populist editorial stance, and was alone among the major, Midwestern farm newspapers in advocating the formation of a separate, agrarian political party. Even after the populist fervor of the 1880s and 1890s had subsided, the paper continued to advocate organization and cooperation as solutions to the economic problems that plagued farmers, arguing that power in government was politically asymmetrical, and the national economy rigged against the farmer by railroad, commercial, and manufacturing interests. In 1899, it changed its format by decreasing the page size, while doubling the number of pages per issue. Like the Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly, it was shifting from newspaper to magazine format, and taking on more of the “farm and fireside” tone that characterized many of the other, more successful, farm papers. Also like the Western Rural and Live Stock Weekly, it began speculating in real estate development, and promoting “colony” schemes in its pages. Its first colony development was Fruitdale, Alabama. In 1901, the paper switched back to a newspaper format—larger page size, but fewer pages per issue. The paper ceased publication in May, 1913. Subjects: Politics; Book farming; Agri-business; Letters; Editorials; Advertisements; the National Grange (Patrons of Husbandry); Market reports; News; Gardening; Fiction; Poetry; Children’s activities; Women’s section; Home economics; Children’s section; Chess column; Checkers column; Book, catalog, and magazine reviews; County and state fair directories.
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Monday, 1 February 1909
1 issue
2 Tuesday, 2 February 1909
3 Wednesday, 3 February 1909
4 Thursday, 4 February 1909
5 Friday, 5 February 1909
6 Saturday, 6 February 1909
7 Sunday, 7 February 1909
8 Monday, 8 February 1909
9 Tuesday, 9 February 1909
10 Wednesday, 10 February 1909
11 Thursday, 11 February 1909
12 Friday, 12 February 1909
13 Saturday, 13 February 1909
14 Sunday, 14 February 1909
15 Monday, 15 February 1909
1 issue
16 Tuesday, 16 February 1909
17 Wednesday, 17 February 1909
18 Thursday, 18 February 1909
19 Friday, 19 February 1909
20 Saturday, 20 February 1909
21 Sunday, 21 February 1909
22 Monday, 22 February 1909
23 Tuesday, 23 February 1909
24 Wednesday, 24 February 1909
25 Thursday, 25 February 1909
26 Friday, 26 February 1909
27 Saturday, 27 February 1909
28 Sunday, 28 February 1909